New York Indian Film Festival 2011 Facebook
You Tube
New York Indian Film Festival Winners

Capping off five days of Indian cinematic excellence, the 11th Annual New York Indian Film Festival came to a close in grand fashion on May 8 with the spectacular Closing Night red carpet premiere of Rituparno Ghosh's powerful film Noukadubi which was attended by Rishi Kapoor, Neetu Singh Kapoor, Salman Rushdie, Mira Nair, Aparna Sen, Madhur Jaffrey, Ambassador Prakash Shah, Consul General Prabhu Dayal, and many other notable celebrities. Following the premiere at Asia Society in Manhattan was the festival's annual awards ceremony. The winners are listed below.

Best Feature Film - Sthaniya Sambaad (Spring in the Colony), directed by Arjun Gourisaria & Moinak Biswas

Best Director - Aparna Sen, Iti Mrinalini

Best Actor - Rishi Kapoor, Do Dooni Chaar

Best Actress - Konkona Sen Sharma, Iti Mrinalini

Best Screenplay - Mohan Raghavan, T.D. Dasan Std. VI B

Best Documentary - Bhopali (Max Carlson)

Best Short Film - Just That Sort Of A Day (Abhay Kumar)

Above picture still from "Spring in the Colony"


New York Indian Film Festival
Site designed and maintained by InfoBridge